on 8th December 2024 at J.N.Tata Auditorium, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India.

Prof. Dr. Antonio Araujo, MD, PhD,

Director do Servico de Oncologia Medica,
Head of the Department of Medical Oncology,
Centro Hospitalar Universitario do Porto,
Professor Catedratico Convidado,
Instituto de Ciencias Biomedicas Abel Salazar,
Universidade do Porto

Antonio Manuel Ferreira Araujo is Head of the Department of Medical Oncology at Centro Hospitalar do Porto, and is Full Professor at Institute of Biomedical Sciences Abel Salazar – University of Porto. He was Head of the Lung Cancer Clinic at the Portuguese Institute of Oncology – Porto Centre, Porto, from 2006 to 2012, and Head of the Service of Medical Oncology at Centro Hospitalar de Entre Douro e Vouga, Santa Maria da Feira, from 2008 to 2014.

He is member of the Portuguese National Council for Oncology, since 2013, and member of the Advisory Board of the Portuguese Health Regulatory Authority, since February 2015. He is also member of the International Association for Study of Lung Cancer Ethic Committee for the term 2015-2019.

Professor Antonio Araujo obtained his medical degree in 1987 from the University of Porto, and he completed a residency in internal medicine and fellowship in medical oncology at Hospital de V. N. Famalicão, V. N. Famalicão, Braga, Portugal. He gained his PhD in Medical Sciences at the Institute of Biomedical Sciences - University of Porto, in 2010. In 2011, he completed the AESE High Management Program of Health Institutions (XIV PADIS).

His main research interests include developmental therapeutics, clinical and translational research, and molecular mechanisms of tumour resistance and progression in lung cancer. He is also involved in research on pharmaco-economy and costs of cancer treatment.

He is coordinator and co-supervisor of several Master and PhD dissertation thesis from the University of Porto. Professor Araújo has authored or contributed to more than 70 scientific papers and book chapters.

He is a full member of ESMO, ASCO, IASLC, Portuguese Society of Oncology and Portuguese Society of Pulmonology. He was member of the Executive Board, from 2006 to 2012, and member of the Scientific Committee of the Portuguese Lung Cancer Study Group, since 2012. He is President of the Executive Board of the Northern Regional Council of the Portuguese Medical Association for the term 2017-2019.